clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2007 Awards

I had to reformat my laptop today, so I lost all the ballots. I do remember who WON the awards, though. Since I can't put together the full results, I'll just post the winners:

2007 Earl Weaver Award
American League: Eric Wedge, Cleveland Indians
National League: Clint Hurdle, Colorado Rockies

Terry Francona finished second in the AL, and I remember Scioscia was just ahead of Torre for third place. Bob Melvin was a distant second in the NL, and he won the real award. I get why, I guess. They had less business winning 90 than the Rockies did. I thought before the season the D-backs would take that division, and they did, but it wasn't how I figured it would happen.

2007 Gregg Olson Award (RoY)
American League: Dustin Pedroia, Boston Red Sox
National League: Ryan Braun, Milwaukee Brewers

Guthrie and Tulowitzki finished second.

2007 Jim Palmer Award
American League: C.C. Sabathia, Cleveland Indians
National League: Jake Peavy, San Diego Padres

Beckett was a rather distant second, but had a bunch of first place votes. Lackey had a couple of them, too. I think Bedard finished fifth. Peavy was unanimous in the NL.

2007 Cal Ripken/Brooks Robinson Award
American League: Alex Rodriguez, New York Yankees
National League: Matt Holliday, Colorado Rockies

One person voted Magglio Ordonez. What are you, crazy? Holliday won close over Fielder and Rollins.

Scott Van Pelt on SportsCenter about pitched a fit over that one writer voted Holliday sixth. But it was a much tighter competition than a lot of people realize. David Wright was a legit MVP candidate. Pujols quietly had another remarkable season. Had Chipper Jones not missed 28 games, he was really the best hitter in the NL -- that guy is an ace in the hole Hall of Famer. Utley and Howard were both great.

Plus, outside of the Gold Glove, Curtis Granderson did basically exactly what Jimmy Rollins did as a hitter.