clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Gold Gloves 2013: J.J. Hardy, Adam Jones, and Manny Machado are the Orioles winners

2013 Gold Glove winners were announced Tuesday night. The Orioles had six players who were finalists. Among those, they had three winners: J.J. Hardy, Adam Jones, and Manny Machado.

Joy R. Absalon-USA TODAY Sports

The Orioles went into Tuesday's Gold Glove award announcements with six players having been selected as finalists at their respective positions. That was the most of any other team in baseball. From those six finalists, they had three winners: J.J. Hardy, Adam Jones, and Manny Machado.

For the first time, the Gold Glove selection process included a sabermetric component, with approximately 25% weight being given to metrics including Ultimate Zone Rating (UZR) and Defensive Runs Saved (DRS). The rest is given to the traditional mix of coaches and managers who are polled for their choices.

Hardy won the Gold Glove for shortstops in the American League for the second year in a row. He joins Mark Belanger, who won from 1973-78, and Cal Ripken Jr., who won in two in a row in 1991 and 1992, as Orioles shortstops to win the award in consecutive seasons. It was the second Gold Glove of Hardy's career.

Jones also won a Gold Glove for the second straight season. He has won three Gold Gloves in his career, with wins in 2009 in addition to the past two seasons. He is the ninth Orioles player to have won three or more Gold Gloves in his O's career. The only other Orioles outfielder to win consecutive Gold Gloves was Paul Blair, who won eight in his time with the O's.

Machado won the first of what will hopefully be many Gold Glove awards in his career. You don't need metrics to know that Machado was one of the best defensive players on the planet. His highlight reel is a constant stream of plays that would make Gary Thorne say, "WHOA, MERCY!"

The last Orioles third baseman to win a Gold Glove was Brooks Robinson in 1975. That was his 16th of 16 consecutive Gold Gloves. Robinson won his first Gold Glove at age 23.

This is the second straight year that the Orioles have had three Gold Glove winners, with Hardy, Jones, and Matt Wieters all having won last season.

Wieters, Nick Markakis, and Chris Davis were also finalists for Gold Glove awards. Wieters lost out to Salvador Perez of the Royals. Shane Victorino beat out Nick Markakis for the Gold Glove for a right fielder, and Eric Hosmer was the winner at first base.