clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Saturday night Orioles game thread: vs. Nationals, 6:35 pm

The Orioles face old nemesis Jon Lester tonight.

MLB: Toronto Blue Jays at Baltimore Orioles
Matt Harvey
Tommy Gilligan-USA TODAY Sports

After a solid win last night against the Nationals, tonight the Orioles will be sending Matt Harvey to the mound in an effort to capture a series win. Harvey’s opponent on the mound will be lefty Jon Lester. I tell you, if this game were taking place about eight years ago, this would be a heck of a matchup. As it stands in 2021 we’ve got an ERA+ of 77 (Lester) going against an ERA+ of 63. Both are bad. One is worse.

Originally Max Scherzer was slated to make the start tonight, but he was a late scratch. If you heard that and wondered to which team Scherzer had been traded, you’re not alone. But it seems that he’s just dealing with some soreness in his tricep so they are giving him some rest in hopes that Scherzer can avoid the IL (so that he can be traded).

The latest transaction by the Orioles is to call up RHP Connor Greene, who is taking the roster spot of the injured Tyler Wells. Greene is a 26-year-old who, if he gets into the game tonight, will become the 12th player to make his major league debut for the Orioles this year. Greene has been kicking around in the minor leagues since 2013, which is quite a long time indeed. I wish him well.

This game is at a weird time, 6:35 p.m. Previously this had been the date that Diplo was scheduled to do a postgame concert, which is why the start time was pushed up 30 minutes. But due to Mr. Diplo’s recent legal troubles, the Orioles canceled that engagement. But I’m fine with a 6:35 start. It’s great for old ladies like me.

Orioles Lineup

1. Cedric Mullins (L) CF

2. Austin Hays (R) RF

3. Trey Mancini (R) 1B

4. Ryan Mountcastle (R) DH

5. Ramon Urias (R) SS

6. Pedro Severino (R) C

7. Maikel Franco (R) 3B

8. Ryan McKenna (R) LF

9. Pat Valaika (R) 2B

SP: Matt Harvey (RHP)

Nationals Lineup

1. Alcides Escobar (R) 2B

2. Trea Turner (R) SS

3. Juan Soto (L) RF

4. Josh Bell (S) 1B

5. Ryan Zimmerman (R) DH

6. Josh Harrison (R) 3B

7. Gerardo Parra (L) LF

8. Tres Barrera (R) C

9. Andrew Stevenson (L) CF

SP: Jon Lester (LHP)

Let’s go O’s!